DIY Greek Yogurt

Greek yogurt has been “all the craze” for past few years. I haven’t jumped on the bandwagon and am at the point that I am making a conscious effort not to (so.hard.to.resist). The whole thing just feels way too much like a marketing/foodie/hipster fad that I can see right through. The part that makes me laugh is how people never buy plain, unsweetened yogurt to eat (except me and J, I guess), but then the second it has Greek tagged to the front and enough foodies are blogging about it, everyone talks about how much they love this tangy/sour yogurt. Really, Greek yogurt is just normal yogurt with more water removed, making it thicker (and ultimately has more protein per spoonful). That’s it. If you like that, great! If not, don’t feel like you need to jump on the bandwagon anytime soon…I’ll be back here if you need some company.

One thing we can all agree on is that Greek yogurt is expensive. Like, really expensive (this is where the marketing conspiracy theory comes in…). If you are money conscience like me, but love your Greek yogurt, stop over at Mel’s Kitchen to learn how to make homemade Greek Yogurt. Her recipe is very similar to my earlier post “EASY homemade yogurt” but with tips on how to make it thicker. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

